The ENACA is the European Network of Architects Competent Authorities. The purpose of the ENACA is to provide a forum for discussion for Competent Authorities with a view to improving administrative cooperation and exchanging best practice in the  implementation of  Directive 2005/36/EC on the Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications (PQD) which facilitates the mobility of appropriately qualified professionals within the EEA ENACA also exchanges information on legislation, procedures and standards for registration of architects in the EU/EEA/Swiss area with a view to achieving a consistent approach across Europe. The work of ENACA also extends to the implementation of the Services Directive 2006/123.

Membership of ENACA is at an organisational level and opened to any Competent Authority (CA) for architects, or request handler in any EU Member State, EEA State, Switzerland or EU Candidate State. ENACA was founded in 2007.

The main responsibilities of the nominated Competent Authority in each Member State are to process applications for recognition of qualifications and to take decisions on access to market. Some Competent Authorities are also responsible for scrutinising and commenting on the compliance of architectural qualifications with the relevant requirements of the Qualifications Directive before these are formally listed and recognised in Europe.

Article 46 of the Professional Qualifications Directive (PQD) sets minimum requirements for the training of architects. This means that Member States can maintain, or adopt, appropriate additional requirements for accessing the profession and the title in their country (for example additional examination or longer period of practical training). ENACA plays a key role in allowing Competent Authorities to discuss and learn about the various national requirements in place with regard to access to the profession.

As well as sharing information via our website, the ENACA usually meets twice a year. Meetings are also opportunities to engage directly with national authorities or EU institutions’ representatives.

ENACA meetings since foundation:

February – Budapest

February – Bern
November – Brussels

March – Brussels
October – Dublin

March – Munich
November – Prague

March – London
September – Stuttgart

March – Budapest
September – Copenhagen

March – Helsinki
September – Bratislava

January – Dublin
May – Rome
September – Lisbon 

February – Thessaloniki
May – La Valletta
September – Gdansk 

February – Berlin
April – Brussels
July – Brussels
October – London

January – Sofia
May – Brussels
October – Bratislava

February – Wiesbaden
May – Bucharest
July – Dublin
August – The Hague 

May – Dublin
October – Vienna